All about ITIL Certification-Process Level and Fees:  ITIL is the most widely recognized framework for ITSM. The ideas behind the development of ITIL organizations are becoming increasingly dependent on IT  to satisfy their customer and organisation growth. This is leading to an increased need for more reliable and quality focused IT services.

ITIL is the trademark of AXELOS , and they publish many certification at 5 level and there are millions of certified ITIL practitioners worldwide. Many organizations have adopted this best practice

Key Points on ITIL Certification, Process

What is ITIL Certification ?

ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library.

  1. ITIL is part of IT Service management Best practice normally called ITSM
  2. ITIL is not a standard like ISO , however it is a set of best practices guidelines which can be adopted and customized by any organization to suit their need.These ITIL is a collection of best practices used for managing IT services in any industry that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business in the IT industry.
  3. ITIL focus on using the IT Resources ( IT Infrastructure, including IT people) in an optimal way so that the customers get better service
  4. AXELOS is the governing body for ITIL certification  and it is globally recognized and accepted as a benchmark framework for quality of service
ITIL Certification Process and Level TrainingsTree

ITIL Certification (Image credit Google)

What are the ITIL Certification Levels ? who is qualified to take up

There are Fiver level of certification higher the better to exhibit the proficiency

  1. ITIL Foundation Certification: This is entry point certification and offers a general awareness of the concept and terminology used in the ITIL framework. This Certification is for those who require a basic understanding and who want to understand and start implementing in the organization. In other words  Foundation level is the entry level certification which offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.
  2. ITIL Practitioner Certification:  This would need Foundation level as a pre-qualification, and this would focus more of how part then theory. Here one would learn metrics and communication also little bit about change management practice and implementation more rigorously.In this level of certification one  would be learning ITt framework and how to implement in real time, The Practitioner level is the next stage in the ITIL scheme. It has been developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate Level and aims to improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in their organizations.This level is worth a 3 credit points towards Expert level certification
  3. ITIL Intermediate: This level has two streams, One is Service Lifecycle and the other one is  Service Capability Stream. You could choose to  take individual courses however if you wish to progress through the ITIL qualification scheme you will need to earn a minimum of 17 credits It is very important that you refer to the ITIL credit system and administration policy when deciding which courses to take .The Intermediate level certification has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation level and Practitioner, and provide an industry-recognized qualification.
  4. ITIL Expert Level : Once you complete all the modules you will become expert and cover in ITIL and you will be awarded expert certification. In this level The ITIL Expert level qualification is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL Scheme in its entirety. The certificate is awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL certifications and have attained a well rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices.
  5. Master Level: Once you start implementing everything in the organization and master the art of ITISM and ITIL practices in all aspect you are considered to be master in this field.To achieve the ITIL Master certification, you must be able to explain and justify how you have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods and techniques from ITIL and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.

  The  structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of   ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest.

Here is list of Certification and the providers for your ref

 ITIL V3 Foundation

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Service Offerings and Agreements

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Release, Control and Validation

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Operational Support and Analysis

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Planning, Protection and Optimization

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Service Strategy

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Service Design

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Service Transition

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Service Operation

ITIL V3 Intermediate: Continual Service Improvement

ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

ITIL V3 Expert

ITIL V3 Master

PRojects IN Controlled Environment (PRINCE2) Foundation

PRojects IN Controlled Environment (PRINCE2) Practitioner

PRojects IN Controlled Environment (PRINCE2) Professional

Management of Risk (M_o_R) Foundation

Management of Risk (M_o_R) Practitioner

Management of Portfolios (MoP) Foundation

Management of Portfolios (MoP) Practitioner

Management of Value (MoV) Foundation

Management of Value (MoV) Practitioner

Managing Successful Programmes (MSP) Foundation

Managing Successful Programmes (MSP) Practitioner

Managing Successful Programmes (MSP) Advanced Practitioner

Portfolio, Programme and Project Offices (P3O) Foundation

Portfolio, Programme and Project Offices (P3O) Practitioner


Why should you go for ITIL Certification ? 


Apart from professional skill upgrade it gives you a complete overview of the IT Service management and it process from initiation to end point.. As most of us are working on a part of the large process and may not know how things are being done in other parts of the process. This will help you get a better grip on the subject and you become not only expert also will help you understand upstream and downstream process. Finally any certification gives you an authority on the subject and you can confidently go ahead and implement things which will be accepted as norm.


To see our complete list of IT Certification and Providers click here 

Also find some of the best online courses on various certifications available just for  $10 to $20 you can learn on your own anytime anywhere on our leading global  course marketplace 



Want to know the best Learning source in your area? Let us help you. !!


Learning Interest


Kind of Training



Contact No

Your Email


*by sending you agree to our privacy policy and T & C




Leave a Reply